Complimentary delivery & gift wrapping with all orders
Contact us directly via WhatsApp nowWhatsApp

The Home of Fine Diamonds

The 4 C's of Diamonds

Each and every G. Collins and Sons diamond is individually selected under scrupulous examination to ensure that as the home of fine diamonds our pieces encompass only the very best.

Discover More


The clarity of a diamond is a measurement of the purity and rarity of the stone, based on the diamond's inclusions. The GIA grading scale has 11 different grades, these are:

  • FL: Flawless
  • IF: Internally Flawless
  • VVS1 VVS2: Very, Very Slightly Included
  • VS1 VS2: Very Slightly Included
  • SI1 SI2: Slightly Included
  • I1 I2 I3: Imperfect

There are five factors that affect how clarity is determined in a diamond, and how inclusions are considered: Size, Nature, Number, Location, and Relief.

Diamond Clarity Grading Scale


Diamond size is measured in carat weight. One carat equals 1/5 of a gram, which is 0.2 grams. The word is often abbreviated as "ct". If a diamond weighs less than one carat, its weight is indicated in points such as 0.75ct.

Diamond Carat Weight


The GIA colour scale for diamonds ranges from D to Z and refers to how colourless a diamond is. The highest quality diamonds are totally colourless which are graded as D Colour. As the scale goes towards Z colour, the diamonds appear more yellow/brown in colour. This scale does not apply to fancy coloured diamonds.

Diamond Colour Range

Please Wait

This won't take a moment...